Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster

Business Awards 2014 13 November 2014
at Energus, West Cumbria

Congratulations to our winners!

Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster Awards
Back row, left to right: Phil Redfern (REACT Engineering), Michael Kitchin (Safety Critical), Graham Cartwright (Forth Engineering), Mark Telford (also Forth Engineering), Dave Millington (Nuvia), Tony Wilson (Indelible Data).
Middle row, left to right: Caroline Gate (Safety Critical), Pete Woolaghan (REACT Engineering), Liz Bowe (PacTec EPS), Rachel Rudd (Centre for Leadership Performance), Al Mather (CforLP), Brian Lightowler (QG Management Standards).
Front row, left to right: Mike Layfield and Peter Caunce (both Hudson-Swan Engineering).

Find out more about each award winner →

About the Awards

Two years ago, I wrote the welcome for the BECBC Business Awards with little awareness of the potential impact of the Awards, not only from the success of the ceremony but also the difference that an Award would make for several of our winners.

Since then, we've seen membership of BECBC grow to over 230 member companies, we've had infrastructure announcements and indicators of new investment on Britain's Energy Coast and elsewhere in Cumbria and we've seen several BECBC member companies develop, grow, bid for and win new contracts, often by working in partnerships and collaborations forged at Cluster meetings.

The BECBC Business Awards 2014 is a celebration of the best of our membership's achievements – the Awards showcase the variety of companies, the breadth (and the depth) of their expertise and, I hope, the region's enthusiasm for success, not only here in Cumbria but in the wider world too.

Sean Balmer
Chairman of Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster (BECBC)

Introducing the BECBC Awards 2014 - Video
Introducing Large and Small Business BECBC Awards 2014 - Video

2014 Winners

Eight awards were presented (including a Special BECBC 10th Anniversary Award). Watch videos from each winner and view their profiles on the BECBC site.

  • Excellence in Health and Safety Sponsored by NNL (National Nuclear Laboratory)

    WINNER: Nuvia Limited

  • Business Innovation Sponsored by LLWR (Low Level Waste Repository)

    WINNER: QG Management Standards and Indelible Data (joint entry)

  • Commitment to West Cumbria Sponsored by Westinghouse Electric Company

    WINNER: Hudson Swan Engineering
    Highly Commended: REACT Engineering Ltd

  • Inspiring People Sponsored by Safety Critical

    WINNER: Centre for Leadership Performance
    Highly Commended: Innovus (NNL and Manchester University joint entry)

  • Growing Business of the Year Sponsored by Morgan Sindall and ARUP in joint venture

    WINNER: Forth Engineering (Cumbria) Ltd

  • BECBC Small Business of the Year Sponsored by EnergySolutions

    WINNER: Safety Critical
    Higly Commended: Prima Uno Planning and Programming Ltd

  • BECBC Large Business of the Year Sponsored by NMP (Nuclear Management Partners)

    WINNER: REACT Engineering Ltd

  • BECBC Special 10th Anniversary Award (in recognition award for Outstanding Contribution to the Aims of BECBC over 10 years) Sponsored by Nuvia

    WINNER: Liz Bowe
    Runner-up nominees: Margaret Barrow, Kurt Canfield, Andy Hooper, Derek Jenkinson, Penny Lees

Additional Information

Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster (formerly West Cumbria Business Cluster) is a private sector-led group of 230+ organisations, from SMEs to global businesses. Members include world-class, innovative and highly competitive companies that offer high value jobs in the region. Further information is available online at

For further information about BECBC or the Awards night please contact Hazel Duhy, BECBC Admin Manager on 016973 44905 or

Website Design Cumbria