Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster

Congratulations to our winners!

Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster Awards
Front left to right: Adam Pearson (Adamedia), Rachel Ritson (Grisdales Estate Agents), Elizabeth Atkinson (Kaefer), Jonny Hirst (Kaefer) Sarah Purdham (Prima Uno), Adrienne Easterbrook (Energus), Dennis May and Joanne Mahone (both Kaefer). Back left to right: Phil Bennett (Wood and BECBC Socio Economic Sector Group), Keith Pearson (Adamedia), Shaun Stanger (Energus), Ian Tattersall (MD of Kaefer), Ian Spencer, Kevin Robertson, Darren New, Ross McClean and Laura McCrickett (all Kaefer)

Welcome to the Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster Awards 2017

At a gala dinner on 23 November, Britain’s Energy Coast Business Cluster (BECBC) announced the winners of its Business Awards 2017. The atrium at Energus was packed with VIP guests and representatives of Cumbrian businesses, from major players such as the sponsors, Carr’s Engineering, Sellafield Ltd and Areva, to less familiar names and guests from across the UK and beyond.

"No other awards so clearly celebrate the collaborations among local businesses and this year’s dinner had a real feel of friends together celebrating each other’s successes,” said BECBC Chairman, Ivan Baldwin. “There were some firsts this year with a Special Recognition Award from the Business Cluster Board and a Businessperson of the Year Award, the only category that had a member vote to decide the winner. And it was a celebration of the diversity of our membership too."

As Ivan concluded: "We celebrated with friends from global businesses engaging in Cumbria and we celebrated with businesses that were born here and are thriving. There are brains, beauty and heart in this area and Cumbrian businesses certainly have heart.

Introducing the BECBC Awards 2017 - Video

2017 Winners

Eight awards were presented. Watch videos from each winner and view their profiles on the BECBC site.

  • Socio Economic Commitment to West Cumbria Sponsored by Balfour Beatty

    WINNER: Kaefer

  • Inspiring People Sponsored by NIS Limited

    WINNER: Energus

  • BECBC Growing Business of the Year Sponsored by Nuvia Limited

    WINNER: Prima Uno Ltd

  • BECBC Micro Business of the Year Sponsored by Morgan Sindall

    WINNER: Adamedia Ltd

  • BECBC SME of the Year Sponsored by WOOD

    WINNER: Grisdales Estate Agents

  • BECBC Large Business of the Year Sponsored by Carr's Engineering

    WINNER: Kaefer
    Highly Commended: TSP Engineering

  • BECBC Board Special Recognition Award Sponsored by University of Cumbria

    BECBC Socio Economic Group

  • Businessperson of the Year Sponsored by BECBC

    WINNER: Sarah Purdham

Additional Information

Britain's Energy Coast Business Cluster (formerly West Cumbria Business Cluster) is a private sector-led group of 335+ organisations, from SMEs to global businesses. Members include world-class, innovative and highly competitive companies that offer high value jobs in the region. Further information is available online at

For further information about BECBC or the Awards night please contact Hazel Duhy, BECBC Admin Manager on 016973 44905 or

Website Design Cumbria